Loading course records
14:332:221
Principles Of Electrical Engineering I
Loading course records
14:332:361 · Electrical and Computer Engineering · School 14 — New Brunswick School of Engineering
Electronic Devices introduces semiconductor devices and microelectronic circuits, including diode behavior and circuits, MOSFET and BJT operation, biasing, and single-stage transistor analysis. Rutgers lists prerequisites 14:332:222 and 14:332:224, with 14:332:363 as a co-requisite.
How it’s graded
Department course specification; term not specified
Students rate teaching
SIRS · 1,265 responses · 2014–2025
Spring 2027
1 open in snapshot · 1 instructor
When it meets
Busch
Checked-in sections · current seat counts are unavailable.
TF 10:20 AM · Busch · 1 section · 1 open
AI-generated overview
Listed by the department as an outcome-assessment method; no weight is provided.
Listed by the department as an outcome-assessment method; no weight is provided.
Listed by the department as an outcome-assessment method; no weight is provided.
Evidence term: Department course specification; term not specified. Past weights are not current section policy.
4 units · topic sequence may vary by instructor
Begin with analog and digital signals, amplifier models, network theorems, op-amp circuits, and non-ideal behavior.
Study ideal and practical diode behavior, terminal characteristics, small-signal analysis, junction bias, Zener diodes, and circuit applications.
Move from transistor structure and models to DC analysis, amplifier configurations, operating regions, and single-stage circuit design.
Study MOSFET structures and current-voltage behavior, then use DC and small-signal models for biasing and single-stage amplifier analysis and design.
Student accounts describe the material as demanding and recommend keeping up with practice problems and reviewing circuit-analysis fundamentals. One account reports that perceived difficulty changed as the course moved from earlier circuit topics into diodes, MOSFETs, and BJTs.
Common pitfall
Instead
Review transfer functions, frequency response, and basic circuit-solving methods before moving into device models.
Researched and independently reviewed · 6 sources · 11/14 fields found
officialSummary: found · Current ECE course specification and 2026–27 Rutgers catalog opened. Removed the unsupported Fall 2026 requirement discrepancy; current official sources list prerequisites 14:332:222 and 14:332:224 and co-requisite 14:332:363.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices" · Rutgers "14:332:361" syllabus
fit.bestFor: found · Synthesized from official objectives and topics.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices"
fit.toughIf: found · Framed around the official prerequisite background; no unsupported difficulty judgment.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices"
prerequisitesInPractice: found · Official ECE specification, 2024 handbook, and 2026–27 catalog agree on prerequisites and co-requisite. Student discussion mentions reviewing prior circuit fundamentals but does not establish additional enrollment requirements.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices" · Rutgers "14:332:361" syllabus
chapters: found · Topic order follows the official course specification.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices"
assessment: found · Official methods are listed as quizzes, midterm, and final exams; no weights or current section policies are specified.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices"
studentPerspective: found · Two course-specific Reddit threads were opened. Accounts differ by section and term; the summary is limited to recurring preparation and workload themes, without treating one section's practices as universal.
site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "14:332:361" OR "332:361" · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Umer" Rutgers · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Javanmard"
courseRatings: not-found · No rating dimensions met the evidence threshold across independent, comparable sources. Aggregate SIRS remains platform context and was not converted into research ratings.
site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "14:332:361" OR "332:361" · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Umer" Rutgers · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Javanmard"
atAGlance.weeklyHours: not-found · Student accounts describe substantial effort but do not provide a dependable weekly-hours estimate.
site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "14:332:361" OR "332:361" · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Javanmard"
instructorVariation: found · The official ECE specification names course coordinators, and the supplied Fall 2026 platform packet names the instructor for its section. No cross-instructor practices are asserted.
Rutgers "14:332:361" syllabus · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Javanmard"
commonPitfalls: found · Student accounts support a narrow preparation pitfall: leaving earlier circuit-analysis fundamentals unreviewed. No broader universal pitfall is inferred.
site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Umer" Rutgers · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Javanmard"
prepPlan: found · Preparation suggestions are grounded in the official topic sequence and student advice to revisit circuit fundamentals and practice problems.
site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Umer" Rutgers · site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices"
materials: found · Official ECE page names the eighth edition of Microelectronic Circuits and lecture notes; it does not distinguish required from optional.
site:ece.rutgers.edu/ece-course-descriptions "Electronic Devices"
policies: not-found · No current syllabus establishing general attendance, late-work, or recitation policies was located.
Rutgers "14:332:361" syllabus · site:reddit.com/r/rutgers "Electronic Devices" "Javanmard"
1 open · Busch
| Section | Status | Instructor | Meeting | Campus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0120099 | Open | Umer Hassan | Tuesday 10:20 AM-11:40 AM at SEC 210; Friday 10:20 AM-11:40 AM at SEC 210SEC 210 | Busch |
Historical student surveys
Teaching
3.97
Course quality
3.81
Response rate
44.6%
Coverage
21 offerings · 2014–2025
| Instructor | Offerings | Teaching | Quality |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mehdi Javanmard | 6 | 4.27 | 4.02 |
| Umer Hassan | 4 | 4.30 | 4.22 |
| Lu Yicheng | 3 | 3.57 | 3.50 |
| Javanmard Mehdi | 2 | 4.55 | 4.40 |
| Yicheng Lu | 2 | 3.85 | 3.50 |
| Hassan Umer | 1 | 4.70 | 4.50 |
Catalog and planning context
Credits
3
Current campuses
Busch
Current availability
1 open of 1
Catalog terms
Fall, Spring
Core codes
None listed
Loaded terms
5
(14:332:222)
No direct degree-list membership appears in the checked-in requirement index.